RSS

Brainwaves

11 Mar

Hello!

So I won’t lie, recently I haven’t had loads of contact with other human beings, through the Internet yes, but in actual person? Face to face? Not really. This might be down to the fact that my Dad is usually out, either at work or the gym and all my friends are more or less finishing University.

Anyway, the reason for me telling you all this is because it’s given me some time to have some ideas, some brainwaves.

Around a year ago I had a little thought in my head going, ‘hey, you know what would be pretty cool, a sitcom revolved around the life of a hospital radio station’. I know a lot about this as I’ve got two and a half years’ experience volunteering at Cotswold Hospital Radio in Cheltenham whilst at University. I loved going every week and made some decent friends along the way but there sure was enough material for me to think about what would be funny if this was transferred into a sitcom-type scenario. Interestingly enough also, I’m actually starting a new show on Trust AM in Worksop, Nottinghamshire (near Doncaster) tomorrow. This is another hospital radio station that I’ve decided to get involved with since being back home. I’m looking forward to doing some radio again and it may give me some more ideas for this sitcom I’m currently laying down the groundworks for. I told my good friend Scott about the idea and a few little anecdotes and characters I’d laid down already and he said it sounds very ’90’s’. Good. I love the 90’s. Cheers Scott, fella.

The songwriting is also still coming along well, it’s been going on for years now of course but I’m a firm believer that the more songs you write and the more you practise, the better the songs will be, musically and lyrically. I really need to get into a studio soon with a couple of people and lay down some stuff properly. Songwriting and recording is definitely the most exciting creative project for me, not to mention the most doable.

Finally, I’ve also been toying around with the idea of saving up for a radio zoom kit and starting to do some individual, not-for-profit, music documentaries for radio. I solely produced a 22-minute documentary on the Arctic Monkeys in my final year at University which got a very good grade and it is something I admittedly, am immensely proud of, it even won a bloody award! I had to meet a deadline for that and under my own steam, following the proven structure I used for the AM doc, I honestly reckon I could produce some great stuff still, put it online and use it to the best of my advantage in the future.

It’s going to be difficult to fit all this in as I’m starting my new, full-time job next week at a local home finance company. I’d like to make a good impression but still concentrate on these ideas in my free time, as well as generally chilling out and having fun.

2016 is set to be a creative year nonetheless, exciting!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
