RSS

Au Revoir, Zane

07 Mar

Hi everyone, sorry it’s been a while!

I would start by saying I’ve been exceptionally busy (which I have in truth), and that I haven’t had any time to write any posts, but quite frankly, the latter statement is a bit of a fib, so I’m just gonna move on.

As I’m sure you’re all aware, Zane Lowe has left BBC Radio 1, after presenting the 7-9pm weekday slot, (Mondays to Thursdays) after twelve years. He did his final show at the station on Thursday evening, playing the music that him and his team believe have defined the programme over the years.

As emotional as it sometimes was, with him pouring his heart out over his love for R1 and the music, with a key moment being Lowe pressing play on Amy Winehouse’s ‘Back To Black’, I’m glad it’s over.

In recent times, I’ve become quite fed up of the bad singing over the top of records, the dreadful Family Guy impressions and the self-indulgent nature he possesses. The other thing that really pisses me off about him these days is that he thinks he’s best mates with Kanye West, Jay-Z, and some of the best and biggest rappers in the world right now. Well, I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news Zane, but that’s just not the case.

In light of the departure, I was having an interesting conversation with my tutor the other day, and we both agreed that his parting isn’t because of his age, it’s the fact that the audience can no longer relate to the man. For quite a number of years now, he has not been speaking FOR the people, he’s been speaking DOWN to them. It was the same with Moyles, and it will be the same with Grimshaw. Give Nick half a dozen more years and he’ll be axed.

However, in saying all this, I am thankful for what Zane has done for the station, and for music in general. I used the hashtag (#ThanksZane) on several occasions and tried to listen in live as much as he could, as I’m very fond of the kind of music he played. The man also introduced me to my favourite album in Nirvana’s ‘Nevermind’, by playing it out in full, with it being his first ever ‘masterpiece’, back in 2007.

To end this somewhat bipolar post, I’m going to say that I am very much looking forward to Annie Mac taking over the slot. It will give a fresh outlook on arguably the most important time slot with regards to new music on modern radio, and I hope it will embark Radio 1 on a new, exciting era of outstanding alternative music.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 7, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
