RSS

Sonic Highways – Second Thoughts?

12 Nov

So, first of all, sorry it’s been a while. I have been trying to heavily adjust to life in the third year and it’s safe to say that it’s pretty mental, and honestly, I just forget to blog. I have all these great ideas for posts and I just forget, every, bloody, day.

Secondly, I’d like to present you all with a thought. Anyone that knows me will know that I am a massive fan of the stratospheric Foo Fighters, the global rocklords that be. I’m sure you’re all aware by now that they have just released their eighth studio album, ‘Sonic Highways’. For those that have been living under a rock, the album holds eight songs, all of which were written and recorded in eight different, famous American cities, each one an iconic haven of their own musical heritage. The album has also been heavily supported by a documentary series (aired on BBC Four, again following the theme of eight with eight episodes). This shows the band writing and recording the songs and Grohl interviewing these cities’ local musical innovators. For example, Chicago blues guitarist and singer, Buddy Guy was greatly involved in the Chicago episode, where album lead single ‘Something From Nothing’ was written and recorded.

I am hugely hooked to the series and I cannot wait to slot that album into my stereo and love life. However, it’s getting a little bit corny. The third episode, set in Nashville, showed Grohl really getting into touch with the local scene and writing lyrics that, quite frankly, didn’t sound like they were written by the Foo Fighters. So far from what I’ve heard, I’m disappointed with the album lyrically. Every song seems to be touching upon the city that they were written in.

I understand what this is meant to be about, and I understand what the band have set out to do and musically, I do love it but the lyrics make me cringe somewhat, especially at the end of each episode of the series when the band perform the song and the lyrics come up on screen in time to the vocals, essentially forming an actually interesting lyric video.

I suppose what I’m trying to say is, I don’t know where I stand with it at the moment. I have a bad feeling that it will all backfire in the band’s face, and from being a lifelong fan, I do not want this to happen, despite my moaning.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
