RSS

The Youth Of Today

21 Sep

It’s back! This bloody blog is back! I’m now in my 3rd year of my media-related degree in Radio Production so I’ve realised that I need to have something consistent that makes me look engaged and interested in my field, hence the re-re-release of this blog.

It is being re-vamped however, and everything I write will be purely based on music and radio. No longer will there be any personal intermissions, or opinionated little ditty’s, (because, let’s be honest, no-one really gives a shit). So, if you’re sitting comfortably, let’s begin.

I’m going to start by informing you that I went away to America this summer to work as a groundskeeper at a big, fancy hotel. There, I lived with three young English girls around my age. Lovely, lovely girls. However, when learning about their dreadful taste in music, it did not take me long to recognise that times are bloody hard.

Jake Bugg has recently come out and has basically told us what we’re all secretly thinking, that ‘manufactured pop bands don’t have any heart or soul’. He goes on to say that all the lyrics involved are about one-night stands, drinking and ‘twerking’. Despite him being one of the most miserable, (and probably very difficult to interview for a broadcaster), twats in 21st Century, alternative music, he’s right! This is what my housemates didn’t seem to understand, along with the fact that what is on their Spotify playlist is incredibly synthetic and Mcdonalds-esque processed.

What I’m trying to get through to though, is that it’s not their fault.This shite is purely what they’ve been brought up on. In my very early days of listening to music, I was into my top 40 stuff. Personally, I think it was a lot better back then because at least every song didn’t sound the same. However, I got out of the bad habit after a year or two. They just haven’t yet, and are therefore late to the proceedings, if you will. One day they’ll learn, and thousands and thousands of kids my age will also. The most annoying thing about their taste is that they are ignorant towards good music, music written and performed by talented musicians. I played the new Slipknot song, ‘The Negative One’ to one of my housemates and she claimed that it was ‘just noise’ and ‘not music’. She was very wrong indeed of course, because, according to Google, music can be defined as ‘vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) combined in such a way as to produce beauty or form, harmony, and expression of emotion’. Comment below if you think that Slipknot’s music does not associate itself to this definition. Exactly.

Another one of my housemates liked the song, ‘Teardrop’ by Massive Attack, purely because it’s the theme music for hit US drama, House. So I thought I’d educate her a little bit more. If she liked one song by Massive Attack, she might like more, but no. It seemed that if she ‘couldn’t dance to it’, then it was crap. Ignorance personified. Correct me if I’m wrong, but how do we bring new artists into the limelight if we don’t listen to any of their tracks. Give everything a chance, and then they might give you something back. Unfortunately, the youth of today don’t seem to understand this. Shame.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
